I can simulate by running install in --no-harm mode, and then deleteing
what I saw, but why not allow it to do it? Perhaps refusing if what it's
removing isn't the same as what it put there?

Is it a safety issue? I can't be the first person to want to uninstall
something!

Cheers,
Sam