Speaking of attacks, I jumped over to the Garden Wiki just now and see that the front page is spammed to the hilt and all the RecentChanges are nothing but spam entries. So then I check out the PreventingWikiSpam page (which I started) to see what was new there. There I find this interesting link: http://www.rubygarden.org/ruby?action=browse&id=SpamIssue&revision=1 Imagine my surprise at seeing this! I am not sure who wrote it (daz?), but actually I don't really care. Although, it seems I am being insinuated as the potential "Great Graden Wiki Spam Artist". Lol! Sorry to disappoint folks, but it ain't me. But I can tell you this. I am quite dissappointed that the spamming problem has not been satisfactorily dealt with yet. So much so that I now declaring my intent to FIX IT. The plan is simple: any revision that adds an external link will be denied --or perhaps better, honeypotted. If you want to add external link(s) you'll have to email the administrator or official moderator and ask that the link/links be added to the page. I doubt the email load this will create will be very high especailly if spread out over a handful of moderators. But if it does prove too much we can later add temporary passwords (as in 48hrs) to let anyone do so via a special (yet-to-be-determined) secure interface. Thats it. Problem solved. So how should I proceed? Should I make a patch for Ruwiki? Or what? T. And BTW: I am not BillGuindon either. On Sunday 24 October 2004 12:41 am, Richard Kilmer wrote: | Some freaking dork at the following IP address(s) was continually | downloading ruby182-14_RC8a.exe from here: | | 200.98.63.142 | | Then from here... | | 200.98.136.108 | | How is this for an example log: | | [snip] | | And I mean continually. Those IP address are now officially blocked. If | we find the perp who did this, they are going to be NAILED. We realize | that this is probably a DSL line or cable modem. If someone wants to help | track down who is doing this it would be great. It seems to be coming from | Brazil (www.uol.com.br) RubyForge is a community resource and this screws | the whole community. | | I can only assume this was a denial of service attack. I will block the | entire 200.98 subnet and every other subnet owned by uol.com.br if these | things continue (which may negatively effect innocent people...and I don't | want to do that). | | Best, | | Rich | Team RubyForge -- ( o _ елеще┴ // trans. / \ transami / runbox.com I don't give a damn for a man that can only spell a word one way. -Mark Twain