2013/10/7 Felipe Contreras <felipe.contreras / gmail.com>:
> '%s' is meant to imply UTC, however:
>
>   Time.strptime('0', '%s')
>   => 1969-12-31 18:00:00 -0600
>
> After this patch:
>
>   Time.strptime('0', '%s')
>   => 1970-01-01 00:00:00 +0000
>
> In addition, '%s %z' is parsed correctly:
>
>   Time.strptime('0 +0100', '%s %z').strftime('%s %z')
>   => "0 -0600"
>
> Now:
>
>   Time.strptime('0 +0100', '%s %z').strftime('%s %z')
>   => "0 +0100"

It seems the patch changes the behavior of Time.strptime("0", "%s").

before the patch:
% ruby -rtime -e 'p Time.strptime("0", "%s")'
1970-01-01 09:00:00 +0900

after the patch:
% ./ruby -rtime -e 'p Time.strptime("0", "%s")'
1970-01-01 00:00:00 +0000

Is there a reason for that?
-- 
Tanaka Akira